I like my Jeep Grand Cherokee, but why isn’t it on the recommended car lists?

I’ve been listening to Car Talk for almost 25 years and my big thing was to maybe have something to call and ask Tom and Ray someday from here in International Falls Minnesota; the icebox of the nation - alas, I’ve never had to call, and now it’s too late. My heart is Broken. I don’t have a car issue but I do have a general question- my husband died and I was looking for a tough 4 wheel drive vehicle capable of driving in arctic conditions. I ended up with a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited. I did have step tubes installed because I’m only 5 feet tall and have to climb in and out- I love the vehicle but this car is never on the great car to buy list. My question is why? Driving in blizzard conditions is great, summer driving is great, driving through the woods is great, the car feels super solid; why doesn’t it make the good lists? Is there something horrible just not talked about?

I’d say the reason why the Jeeps are not on a “great buy” list is because Jeep products are not the most reliable vehicles.

Since you are now a member of CarTalk’s site, you can search for problems with your type of vehicle - Jeep - and the parent company - Chrysler - and its divisions like Dodge and Ram. I don’t want to scare you but there are a LOT of people posting with problems about their Jeeps, Chryslers, Dodges and Rams.

Glad yours is running fine and you are happy with it.

1 Like

Yeah, it’s the average reliability that’s the problem. Yours could be great, though. We liked our Cherokee for our 12 years in Anchorage.

I had a Jeep Grand Cherokee once. It went in for repairs and service 52 times in the eight years that I had it. That was my last Chrysler product.

1 Like

@lion9car

I search my old files and came up with the following:

1. Dodge Dart 1965, 13 years 40 repairs in 154,000 miles
  2. Ford Granada 1976; 100,000 miles 56 repairs
  3. Chevy Caprice 1988; 33 repairs in 100,000 miles