Hyundai Veloster single knock when accelerating or taking foot off gas?!

I’m looking at a car for sale and the weirdest thing happened…

So this is a 2013 Manual transmission hyunda veloster (non turbo) with 80k miles on it

Car was clean, engine was clean. Idled perfectly and sounded perfect when I revved the engine up from neutral. No sounds at all.

Car drove and shifted very smooth as well, HOWEVER.

I turned the radio and the AC all the way off and I would hear this weird knock noise (literally like a single knock on hard wood) when I would accelerate OR if I took the foot off the gas? it sounded like it came from under the hood but I can’t tell where it was coming from? Sometimes it sounded like the right side? Sometimes the left? It’s not a constant knock and it generally happened if I gave it gas or let off the gas?

I have no idea what the hell this could be? Anyone have an idea?

It happened a lot but it wasn’t constant? I don’t THINK it’s the engine but I’m not a mechanic by any means.

it could be a broken motor mount.

5 Likes

But wouldn’t that make it clunk around when revving it up period? Even from neutral? I don’t think that’s it. It revved up flawlessly when in neutral.

It also didn’t clunk when actually accelerating? It’s just like it happened when you first give it gas or if you take your foot off.

1rst thing I’d suspect is motor mount as @weekend-warrior stated, but could also be suspension (bad tie rod, ball joint, control arm) especially if you feel it in the steering wheel.

I felt nothing in the steering wheel.

But I don’t understand how it could be a motor mount? Wouldn’t that make the motor shake around when accelerating at all? It’s not a constant shake? It’s single knocks

And again, I can rev up really high in neutral and NOTHING happens. Sounds perfect

they tranny is not engaged not putting torque on the engine.

2 Likes