How much more repair should i put into my car?

I have a '99 Honda Civic with 115K… in the past 3 months I’ve put over $2000 of work into it and about $1500 of it was within 6 weeks. I’ve replaced rotors, the emergency brake, the coil springs, the window/lock mechanism inside the door as well as other more minor fixes. There are still some things that need to be done (i.e. a few minor rust spots on the wheel well, a check engine light permanently on etc).

I’m a college student and don’t have a lot of money, and being that this is my first car I don’t know how much money is worth putting into it. Does anyone know how much money is too much money to put into my car? Should I start looking for a new car (new to me, i can’t afford a brand new one) and not put more money into this one or should I keep putting more money into the one I have?

Any and all help is appreciated… thanks!

Well, I’m sure all of us with older cars ask ourselves the same thing; I know I sure do. I love my old Volvo 240 but she’s definitely become a money pit, despite what everyone tells me about how good these cars are and with “only” 142,000 miles it’s just getting broken in. Several thousand dollars later, I’m really reluctant to put anything else into it, and right now it’s in the shop with a cracked power steering line – the one on the rack itself, not the rubber hoses – that will take 3-4 days to obtain from the west coast. At least they don’t have to replace the entire steering rack.

That said, it’s likely that your car still has plenty of life in it. A friend of mine had a 97 Civic, completely neglected it and still drove it 320,000 miles before it finally blew up.

Brake work is normal maintenance.
By the “coil springs” do you mean struts? That would also be normal wear.
The window lock mechanism and Ebrake work (it’s actually a parking brake, but that’s another thread) could be considered normal too, depending on the details.
As too with the few rust spots.