Honda build

I’m looking to purchase a super cheap 2000 Honda Civic Ex coupe (manual) shell and mod it out. I understand Honda parts are someone cheap and easy to find but I’m not sure all the parts that are required for the build. I’m doing this as a hobby thing and also to teach myself how to do something new because I may want to get into the car mechanic scene, I’ve always loved cars. I just need help in coming up with a list of parts in hopes of getting around 250 hp without boost. Ofc I haven’t purchased the car yet but I’d like to get a general understanding of what I’ll need. Ofc thst all depends on the condition of the car itself but I can judge what I do and don’t need off the list on my own. I’m new to the car scene and I want to learn more and have been told Honda civics are a great start.

Generally you will need 4x more $ than expected.

4 Likes

Unless you have experience with a wrench and routine car maintenance (which I doubt, from the tone of your message), getting straight to the engine mods will be quite a challenge and I’m with @Barkydog, it will be quite more expense than initially planned.

No offense, but if you’re really so green . . . you might be better off with a domestic brand

For example a small block Chevy . . . there have been several generations, parts are plentiful and by virtue of the numbers generally cheaper than similar parts for an import engine

And there’s also Ford . . .

I take it you’re on the young side, as such, you might want something “sporty”

Am I even close . . . ?

I suggest buying a Mustang or Camaro. You can pick up an older one for a reasonable price.

To me the word 'Shell ’ means it does not have an engine or transmission . I could make a 3 page list and still not have every thing on it that might be needed .
Sorry Noah , but what you want here is the same as running before you can walk .

4 Likes