High-pitched squeal (only when in drive)

Hello! Hoping someone might point me in the right direction. I began to notice a high-pitched squealing about a day ago while driving. Some details:

1. It’s pretty quiet, in fact, quiet enough that I only consistently notice it when I’m moving forward very slowly, though I think it’s persistent whenever I’m in drive.

2. It’s not the brakes—they seem to have no effect on the squeaking.

3. The noise seems to disappear when I put the car in reverse, and in some cases, it seems to still be absent for a minute or so after I put the car back into drive. But it ultimately reappears.

I have some speculations, but I’m no expert, so would love some input/suggestions of where to look.

Please share the description of your Camry… year, miles on it, engine… 4 or V6, I assume automatic transmission, correct if wrong.

Also, are any lights on the dash? New brakes or tires lately?

You should also share your guess as to the cause.

Noises are very hard to find if you are in or around the car. Much harder over the internet. So more info will give you a better guess from us.

1 Like

Sure thing: 2005 Toyota Camry LE, about 200K miles, automatic transmission, 4-cylinder engine. No lights on. No new brakes, but I did put on studded snow tires in November.

I wonder about a suspension issue. A couple of months ago steering seemed a little sluggish, though that problem was extremely mild and disappeared. Based on what I read, wondered about ball joints. But overall, very little experience with suspension problems. I also wonder about a belt issue. Don’t have much experience with that either. When the car is on and stationary, belt looks/sounds normal.

The main unique detail is that the noise disappears when I shift into reverse, and once I’m back in drive, it takes a minute to show up again. I wondered if that might clue someone into what’s happening.