Help With My 1999 Suburban

I have a 1999 Chevy Suburban with a 5.7L 350 Vortec engine, 2-wheel drive. I had a rebuilt 4L60E transmission put on it and at first it started a little bit rough but pretty normal. It then started making a little bit of a grinding noise, then it got a little bit worse but it would still start and ran fine. One morning, it started but what I think was a metal grinding noise was really bad. I went to come home at the end of the day, and when I went to start it, the grinding was still really bad. Instead of turning over, the grinding sound went away and I heard a spinning sound. I thought it was the distributor shaft spinning but I’m hard of hearing and I’m not very good at localizing sounds so that was just my best guess but I’m positive I heard a spinning sound start as soon as the grinding stopped. (All these sounds are occurring while trying to start the truck by the way.) When I looked under the hood and had my wife try to start it, it sounded like the distributor shaft was just spinning free. I had it towed and pulled the distributor shaft, which looked normal, and reinstalled it with correct timing. The spinning sound was gone but grinding sound was back when I tried to start it again. This engine only has about 30,000 miles on it. Does anyone have any ideas about what type of problem I might be looking at? I would very much appreciate any help. Thank you.

Have you checked the starter?

Starter or flexplate ring problems.

+1 to @missileman If you keep starting the car like this and if the flywheel teeth aren’t shredded now, they soon will be!

@RaiderNationNews

I’ll have to guess cracked flexplate . . . very common on GM V8 engines

Take out the starter . . . or take out the stamped steel bellhousing inspection cover

Either way, you’ll be able to get a very good look at the flexplate. Take a powerful flashlight and take a peek. It wouldn’t surprise me in the least bit if the flexplate has broken