Grey Market Euro Car

Hi, I have a 1985 BMW M635CSi. This model was intended for the Euro market only; this car does not have a catalytic converter. To pass modern emissions, I know I need to add a cat but is there anyway to get it running super-clean for the test?

You have a car that was not designed to meet US emissions requirements.

Prepare to spend money. Lots of money.

Good luck!

Here’s the EPA link on the subject: http://www.epa.gov/otaq/imports/

Are you asking if the car can be tuned to pass inspection without a cat? I really doubt it.

You are stepping into the same Grey area where your car came from. Can you BMW pass? I am a ceritifed Emissions Inspector in PA. There are a number of things you can do…Got any friends in the biz? Where are you located? If you ask people a question while telling them something is wrong you will surely get B-slapped each time they answer. What part o the country you in?

May be a few ways to get it exempted too This all depends on what state you reside in…

And BTW I LOVE THAT CAR the 635 is one of my favs

Thanks for the replies. Just to clarify: I did add a cat.
"There are a number of things you can do…Got any friends in the biz? Where are you located?"
Blackbird: I am in Colorado. Do you have a tip for me?

How did the car get in the US in the first place?

I would suggest contacting a local BMW tuner or independent shop. They may know the in’s and out’s of these operations. It has been done and hopefully you can get hooked up with right shop.

Incredible car in performance and technology even with today’s standards. Reality is it was about 30 years ahead of its own time.