Fuel pump or ignition coil?

I was sitting in a drive through line, and my 2002 Ford F-150 started spitting, sputtering and then died. I restarted it several times, not getting anything but the spitting and sputtering again and then nothing else. I was told by a friend it HAD to be the fuel pump, now I am being told it HAS to be the ignition coil. I am confused and would like someone who knows about auto mechanics to let me know something. My friend is a shade-tree mechanic and now I am not certain I trust his judgement. Any help would be great.

(edit Never mind)

@drovane99 it could be the coil pack if you have a V6. If you have a V8, you have COP coil on plug ignition system. In other words, one coil per plug.
I am a professional mechanic and I’ve replaced several fuel pumps on Ford trucks exactly like yours.
Connect a fuel pressure gauge to your fuel rail. It’s on the passenger side, pretty far back, near the firewall.
But first, check that the inertia fuel cutoff switch hasn’t tripped. It’s inside the cab, on the right kickpanel side. There’s a small plastic panel in front of it that needs to be removed first. Once you have the panel off, you’ll see the cutoff switch. Make sure the red button hasn’t popped up.
Push the red button down. If it won’t go down, that means it hasn’t tripped.

Personally, I’m leaning toward the fuel pump.
Are you pretty handy? Do you have a multimeter, or at least a test light? If you do, I’d suggest you make sure the fuel pump’s getting voltage.

How many miles?
What engine?
Is the fuel filter up to date?