Fixing My Sound System

Hey All,

Long story short, I had to buy an amp and put it in my car which only had 2 front speakers.

Well now, it seems that one of the front speakers has blown.

I was wondering how I would match up my amp to compatible speakers (I plan on replacing the front 2 and adding the back 2 in)?

Thank you

Your amp should have come with detailed instructions and a wiring diagram as to how to install it…Sometimes these installations are best left to a pro…

I was an ICE installer for over 15yrs as a professional… Just use a high quality speaker… Im partial to Pioneer 6 1/2 in 2 ways for the doors… Any high quality speaker will be fine as pretty much all of them can handle MUCH more than any factory radio can provide (Power that is)

Blackbird

The amp is already installed, I just need to know which speakers to buy so the amp/speakers don’t burn.

Like HB said, pretty much any quality speaker will work. Your amp should have in its specs the minimum impedence it can handle, typically 4 ohm. Any speaker rated at that amout or higher will work fine. If you’re looking for speakers, I use crutchfield.com to find ones that fit. I’ve always been satisfied buying from them.

Ok thank you, would the same go for subwoofers?

You should have a wattage rating on the back of all speakers. Most car speakers are 4 ohm and most car amps are as well. Make sure that matches. Don’t keep cranking the amp up till distortion in the amp ruins the speaker, and you should have few problems. Buying from Crutchfield and doing your own work will get you some good advice from their techs on installation.

Make sure you use both a high quality speaker and amp that does not distort at the high volumes you seem to prefer.