Engine Swap a Dodge Neon

Is it possible to swap out a dodge neon enginge (Not a Srt-4) and fit a 305 Chevy small block engine in it???

Absolutely possible. I have seen small block Chevrolet engines in motorcycle frames, that run and can be ridden.

wat wuld i have 2 do (I know these must be easy ass questions but im just starting out in the Car world) wuld I have to push the firewall back? I alrerady know that i must upgrade the front suspension and im going to try to figure out how to switch my front wheel drive to rear wheel. AWD sounds good also but im a rear wheel guy who likes the wider tires in the back.

I am going to bail on providing design on this project. You will learn a lot.

Possible yes? cost-effective? no. The amount of fabrication involved in this would be staggering. You’ll probably have to covert the car to rear wheel drive as well. It won’t be street legal at all. And it won’t be all that fast either. You’re looking at spending at least $20k for the project at a minimum maybe even double that.

All you have to do is completely re-engineer, and then rebuild, the entire car. Sounds like a fun weekend project. Send pics of your first smoky burnout.

I’ve seen people put 350’s in a Chevy Vega. So it’s POSSIBLE. But it’ll take a LOT of work. You’ll have some MAJOR obstacles to overcome.

. Beefing up the front frame assembly to handle the increase weight.
. Finding a trans axle that will bolt up and can handle the power.
. Fodaddy makes a good point about converting it to RWD…Which I think is the ONLY way it could work…And that in itself is going to be a nightmare.

. About 2-300 more.

A 302/305 is a popular swap for the Miata, so it should be possible for a Neon.
Would any SANE mechanic tackle this job, probably not.
Engine cost
new Transmission
custom made drive shaft
new suspension all around
new motor mounts
better brakes
and probably more items