E85 tune vs 93 premium tune

I have a 2010 Honda Civic LX, preproject with tsi extreme turbo kit. G25 turb with 410cc inject. I bought it with all the work done, and tuned by a race track place.

This year my wideband A/F is reading rich and can’t tell if the sensor is dirty or if the tune got thrown off.

I’m also having problems with heat soak when 100F+ as the hood is not vented, so the 800degree turbo spreads that heat like a wild fire. It’s also cooking my alternators causing me to replace it every 2 years.

For the heat issue, how well will e85 tune do to help? And secondly if you get more boost, less heat, cheaper gas prices. Why aren’t all aftermarket cars e85?

Wondering the pros/cons and why it was 93 tuned in the first place.

I’m not an engineer by any stretch of the imagination, but in my experience, E85 burns through a tank of gas faster than 93. It’s cheaper to fill up, but you’ll fill up more often.

And I’m not totally sure why fuel choice would make your turbo generate less heat. Does E85 have lower exhaust temps?

It will help the INternal heat quite a bit. The richer mixture cools the intake charge…sort of like adding a bigger intercooler. The extra cooling and the higher octane (98+) allow more spark advance and more boost. You need 30% bigger injectors and fuel pump plus the tune needs to reflect that you are using E85. Aftermarket ECUs allow the addition of an E85 mix sensor so you could run all E85 or all 93 octane E10 or anything in between.

The EXternal heat is mostly generated by your turbo. That can be insulated itself with the correct heat wrap. More HP means more turbo heat, more radiator heat and more intercooler heat. All ending up inside the engine compartment. Free your underhood heat! Cut holes in the hood for louvers!

Likely it was tuned for 93 in the first place because the owner didn’t want to search for E85 stations.

1 Like