Dodge Avenger

I recently rented a Dodge Avenger to drive approx. 180 miles round-trip. I normally get one of the smallest cars to drive if I rent one but wanted the only slightly bigger Avenger to transport some items to this town about 90 miles away. I’m not good with figuring gas mileage but could tell right away that this car did not get much better gas mileage than my old '96 Pontiac that is a V-6. I thought the Avenger was a 4-cylinder. Turns out the Avenger is available only as a V-6. I burned a full half-tank of gas for that 180 mile trip which is no better than it would have done in my old car. While I felt safer in the newer car (and the air worked great; mine doesn’t), I would not consider buying one of these. The interior was nice, ride was decent, but mileage wise, well it was not good by my standard (even for a newer V-6). Wonder if Chrysler will even consider putting a smaller engine in these or finally making something in between the Avenger and their supposed “Fiat 500” that they will rebadge as a Chrysler in 2012? If you go to the Chrysler web site, there is scant little there but gas mileage isn’t something they can boast about. It’s pretty bad because I actually liked driving the Avenger a lot more than I thought I would. The mileage would be a no-go for me though. Anyone else have any comments on this particular model?

A lot depends on the number of gallons used. What was the miles per gallon for the Avenger, as compared to your Pontiac?

Most Dodge Avengers that I have worked on were 4 cylinder cars. The fuel economy rating for the four cylinder model is 20 MPG city, 31 MPG hwy.

Misty12, I agree with you, but those who are in the market for a car like the Dodge Avenger don’t care about fuel economy, so I don’t see why Chrysler should change it.