Do you purchase the new vehicle protection options?

I recently purchased a brand new 2007 Toyota Prius. The dealership asked me if I wanted to get the optional protection benefits. I am considering getting the undercoating and corrosion protection. The undercoating protects from mud, dirt and road salt lifetime warranty. The corrosion is 10 years unlimited milage covers all environmental corrosion surface rust for five years with environmental paint. The cost for these two would be 570.00. Should I get this extra package?

Check your warranty. Most cars come from the factory with a warranty for this. Also most of these “protective coatings” tend to block up your car body’s drain holes with junk causing other rusting problems since moisture stays trapped in the body panels.

Pass on any extra offered, pure dealer profit.

I used to sell cars for a living. Trust me, these things are nothing but Additional Dealer Profit, and they are a total waste of money for you. No matter what the sales person says, the Prius has been rust-proofed at the factory using state-of-the-art techniques and materials. The dealer-applied “rust-proofing” will actually make the vehicle MORE prone to rust.

You don’t need any paint protection, interior protection, etc. The stuff they put on the paint is CAR WAX, which you can buy at Pep Boys for $5.95. The interior treatment is ScotchGuard, which you can also buy for a few bucks. Don’t let them talk you into this stuff. It’s truly worthless, and I mean worthless. Keep your money.

Sorry, but it really bugs me when dealers use customer ignorance to sell junk like this. The paint on your new Prius can withstand anything short of a low-yield thermonuclear blast, and the interior materials are designed to stand up to kids, dogs, and whatever else you can throw at them.

You do NOT need any additional “protection” of any sort on this new Toyota. They just want to make an extra $570 profit on the deal.