Do I need these options for a new car?

Hi,
I’ve never owned a car before, so I don’t know much about cars.

-CONVENIENCE PKG -inc: 2-stage pwr door locks w/central locking
-speed & transmission sensitive auto door locks
-remote keyless illuminated entry system w/retractable key
-panic mode & trunk release

As a first time driver, would I need these options?
whenever I ask people around me, they say “it’s up to you”
but I have no knowledge to decide whether I need these or not…
Thanks in advance

You’ll find lots of things included you probably don’t need. They are part of a package and not easily divorced from it. Listing every one of these on the sticker is a way to fill out the space IMO. Some of these used to be luxury options but are now commonplace. Some are not even adding any real cost to the manufacturer but they still list them.

Kinda like paying a fee for touch tone service on your phone. For YEARS after touch tone was ubiquitous and they actually had to simulate rotary they were still charging for it…

No you don’t need them. Once upon a time cars had locks which you used the key to unlock and enter the car. No power door locks, no power windows, etc. The car will get you from point a to point b which is its job with minimal options. Options are not necessary, some just make life easier.

Do you need them – no. Do you want them – only you can decide. How much does this option package cost? I’d probably pay an extra $100, but not more. Many used cars are pre-packaged with “popular options” that produce additional dealer profit. Your dealer may have to do some searching to find the exact model you want with the options you need. Or, you could deduct the cost of the options in price negotiations.

Are you buying transportation or a toy box?