Discontinued model

I have an old highlander and have been looking around for something new. I’m a woodworker by hobby and want a lumber friendly vehicle. Not open like a pickup and washable. I’d pretty much settled on the Honda Element but just heard that this is it’s last year. No 2012 model.

I want to get down to the Amish lumber yards in the NE Ohio winter.

Is this a bad thing or good thing? For resale value eventually? Parts? Finding a bargin near the fall?

Jonathan

If you’re going to be using it as a work truck, resale value is going to drop anyway. That said, being a discontinued model doesn’t mean it will be worthless when you’re ready to sell.

Not sure what you are asking? Honda Element has been a solid vehicle. There will be parts available for many years to come. If you are wondering if an Element is a good vehicle for the future, I’d say yes.

Thanks! Like I said woodworking is a hobby. I am wondering about resale or if there is any downside to buying a a discontiued vehicle. I’d like it to be worth something when it is paid off.

And Thanks again,

No worry about the Element, standard Honda parts throughout.

But it’s not ‘washable’, as in ‘hose it out’. That rubber floor is misleading, there’s electronics underneath. Do NOT hose it out!

Thanks, but I’m asking about the element not the Pilot.

Jonathan

I was thinking Element, typing Pilot. My (corrected) comments apply to the Element, not the Pilot.

The Element is the crude brother of the CRV and has been since it’s inception. Not to worry, though unless you have dogs, I would not get one over a 4 cyl compact PU with a taller cap. That would be my first choice. The actual load capacity is quite small regardless of the room. You’ll be pushing the limit with wood and tools IMO.
There are reasons it’s discontinued.