Delaney Power Extractor Engine

Hi All,

I came across this website powerxtractor.com through a friend of mine

and this new engine sounds pretty impressive, but I don’t know enough

myself. What do you all think, is it really good as my friend said?

Thanks in advance for help

No.

I’m not an engine engineer, just a run of the mill mechanical engineer. In concept, it sounds interesting. However, it has a tremendous amount of mechanical hurdles to overcome. Many of which will zap power like the exhaust “supercharger.” I love 2-stroke engines for their weight and power. But they suffer from issues with emissions. Modern electronics will help prevent expelling unburned fuel, but the actual design will suffer from a lot of inefficiencies. I suspect if they can even get a functioning prototype, they will struggle with meeting current emissions regulations or meeting the fuel economy gains they propose. It’s an interesting concept though.

I’m not sure I’d want the task of designing an elipticle crank that can survive the stress an engine would provide.

Interesting discussion, however there are a few weaknesses in the theory.

The first is that it would likely take more energy to run the pump(s) than it takes to push exhaust gasses pass the valve and out the exhaust in an engine without the powerxtractor. In short, there’d be no gain.

The second is that I noticed the author converted the engine to a 2-cycle. 2-cycle engines already have higher power to weight output becuase they fire at every stroke…that’s why they’re the engine of choice for power tools…however they also have far higher emissions outputs. They’re expected to be banned even for small offroad vehicles and power tools due to the emissions.