Defective Remanufactured Engine

This is Part II of a thread I started a couple of months ago. And, I realize I am always here asking for knowledge and advice and not giving much in return - I’m just not an expert. Interested in learning, but no an expert.

Long-story short: I installed a remanufactured engine after my Jeep threw a rod. Bought the full “everything with gravy” warranty. Threw an engine light two days later that goes on and off every couple of days. Misfiring cylinder. Swapped coils, plugs, etc. Those + the injector checked out. So the mechanic ran a CO test and found a bad head gasket on the cylinder. Found excessive pressure in cooling system - bulging hoses, leaking coolant.

Engine seller not returning emails or calls. Next step on my plate is to contact credit card company and open file there. Any advice from this crowd?

If you cannot get any response from the rebuilder in a reasonable amount of time… decision time! Leave it hoping they will respond to your liking, or fix it yourself so you can get your car back.

Have your mechanic pull the head. Once the head is off, you can see whether or not the engine is a quality rebuild or not. Are the overbores all the same size? (don’t laugh, I’ve heard of this) Does the cross-hatch pattern on the bore look good? Does the surface of the head and block look good and are flat? Will all the valves hold back brake-kleen when sprayed into the intake and exhaust? Take pictures, document everything. If the head gasket has a dent in it that the rebuilder created by resting a heavy head on it before laying it flat, take a picture!

If it checks out, replace the gasket and pursue legal action to recover your costs.

1 Like

Who actually rebuilt the engine? And many warranties are just lipstick on a pig.

Since you do not use this car for quite some time, I assume you you do not need it to run by the certain date, do you?

I would pursue a case with a credit card company first, before doing anything else.