Dealing with an exhaust leak

I’m pretty new to the whole car repair thing. I’ve had my vehicle for several years and the maintainence I’ve had to do so far has been pretty straight-forward. I had my parents on hand initially for any advice I needed, plus I was around my home town. However, I’ve been off at Grad school for a couple of years now and I’m not quite sure what to do in my current situation.

Anyway on to the main topic. I have a 99 Saturn SL2 that according to the dealer had a hairline crack in the ‘exhaust resonator pipe’ when I last took it in about a month ago when I was visiting family. They said it wasn’t a major issue and I could probably let it go for a while, so I did. (Plus I didn’t really want to pay the quoted $202 to fix it.)

According to my understanding of exhaust systems the problem is in the pipe leading from the catalytic converter to the resonator (Although, I suppose it could be between the resonator and the muffler).

However, I’ve noticed my car’s been getting noisier (especially when accelerating). Plus, one morning a week or so ago I had it running for a bit and I noticed exhaust coming from underneath the car (around the mid-point) in addition to what was coming from the rear exhaust.

It seems the problem has gotten to the point that it needs to be dealt with soon, however, I’m not sure who I should take it to. Would a muffler place be better, a mechanic, or the local GM dealer? I’ve been told that I’d probably get a lower price at the nearby Mufflerman but I’m unfamiliar with the place. I know the dealer should at least know what they’re doing.

Any thoughts or relevant knowledge on my situation?

There’s an exhaust leak somewhere. And on a ten year old car, that should be expected.

Most muffler shops will do a free exhaust inspection. And once it’s discovered what part of the exhaust system is actually leaking, there’s no telling how much it’s going to cost to fix.

Tester