Crossover AUV towing AWD va Fwd

Considering purchasing a crossover SUV with 5000 towing capacity. Will be towing boat package with total weight of 3000 lbs. is AWD or Fwd better for towing?

Fwd cars and suv’s are much less safe for towing. Go for the AWD model.

2 Likes

I doubt you can find an FWD SUV with a 5000 tow rating.

I’ve been towing trailers (utility, campers) for over 30 years…and I’d NEVER EVER tow anything over 1000lbs with a FWD vehicle. RWD that can be switched to 4wd is the best setup. Then RWD by itself…then lastly AWD. FWD I don’t even consider a tow vehicle. If towing a trailer and it starts swaying it’s very easy for it to start swinging the rear end of a FWD vehicle. You have no easy way of controlling the rear end.

I own a mid-size AWD SUV that can tow 5000lbs. 2500 is about the limit I’m willing to do. You want to start towing 5000lbs, then get a RWD or 4wd (that’s RWD when in two wheel mode).

The Hyundai Santa Fe, GMC Acadia, and Toyota Highlander Fwd’s are all rated to tow 5000 lbs. My boat and trailer weigh about 2300 lbs. Why would this be an issue?

WRONG… Max towing fwd highlander is 2000 lbs. You need to get AWD for 5000 lb towing capacity.

Can you tell me where you are getting this data - I want to be sure I am properly informed. The Toyota website I am looking at says the 4 cyl fwd is 1500 lbs and the 6 cyl fwd is 5000.

Directly from my owners manual.

Every site I’ve seen says it can be equipped to tow up to 5000 lbs.

OK, thanks. May I ask what year your vehicle is?

The “appropriately equipped” is present on every fwd and AWD 6 cyl engine in the 2016 model year. Every one includes
Heavy-duty radiator with engine oil cooler, 240-watt fan coupling and supplemental transmission oil cooler. So, given that, what is better for towing - AWD or fwd