Converting a 2wd to 4wd?

If I had a 1960’s Chevy C10 and wanted to change it over to a 4wd, would it be a costly upgrade? Would I be better off finding a similar truck that has 4wd?

Yes and yes.

Im just learning about classic trucks. Any reccomendations for classics with 4wd?

Willys Jeep.

If you want to go off-roading with an old truck put a winch on it. That will get you out of trouble a lot better that 4wd.

Old 4wd drive trucks are hard to find, in the 60s and earlier most people had more sense that to buy 4wd unless they bought a jeep. The 4wd trucks that were bought wore out long before the 2wd ones because of their complexity and the uses they were put to.

Off roading is not my immediate concern. Its the occasional winter conditions I may have to drive through. I have not owned a car for almost ten years. I have been living in cities, but now I am moving to Wisconsin. My previous car was a 1968 Plymouth Sport Fury. I was thinking of buying a newer car but I just really dig the classics.

I know someone who did this. It was his dream to convert an old 2WD truck to 4WD. He was a prefessional mechanic and an excellent welder/fabricator. The project was a thing of beauty when he was finished.

For the money he spent, he could have bought a Ferrari.

You CAN convert the truck if you really want to, but it would be significantly less expensive to buy a truck that already has 4WD.

You really don’t want to drive an old classic truck in winter. The road salt used in rural Wisconsin will just rust out your classic killing its value.

For Wisconsin winter better to buy a used Ford Explorer and save your money for buying and restoring your classic truck. Once you get into spring you’ll be able to drive your classic 2WD truck anywhere you like as much as you want.