Civic Head Unit Installation Help!

Hey everyone, noob here… Please help! I have spent a few days installing my new CD Receiver JVC KD-HDR60 on my Honda 2002 Civic but still couldn’t get it to work…

basically I tried to use the old wire harness connector to connect with the wire provided by JVC, didn’t work. So I thought the old harness wasn’t good, so bought a new one, like this, http://www.amazon.com/Stereo-Harness-Honda-wiring-installation/dp/B000KL4XT8, to connect with the JVC wire harness(yea, I soldered the wires), just tried and no good…With the wires connected, when I turn on the car, there’s no reaction on the radio, as if no power connected at all.

Can you help me find out what’s wrong? Also after messing with radio my car, the ceiling light and Master Door Lock Switch has stopped working when the car is not on. I have to turned on the car for those 2 to work now…

That’s all the info I can recall right now, can anyone please diagnose the problem for me? Thanks in advance!

Sounds like you blew a fuse, probably the one that provides power to the radio constantly, even when the car is off, to preserve the clock and preset memory.

this can be a DIY project, but if you have no understanding of basic electricity, and the included diagram is confusing to you, I’d urge you to have a pro install this. It’s possible to damage the head unit, speakers, or even your car’s electrical system if you get the connections wrong enough.

I agree with the diagnosis above. A fuse is the most likely culprit. If that is the case you have defied the conventional wisdom that a $300 unit will blow to protect a 25 cent fuse…

I do not usually recommend large chain/warehouse type stores, but the folks at Best Buy near me (Lutherville, MD) were very helpful with a similar problem.