Car wont go into reverse + transmission leak

Hey, so i own a 2006 ford mustang v6, i have been driving it for the past 3 months and 2 days ago i started my car to go to work and it wouldn’t go into reverse. I’d put it in reverse and there wouldn’t be any clicking into gear sound and the car wouldn’t move as if it was in neutral. I looked online and it mentioned that the transmission fluid might have been low so i decided to do a fluid change and while i was filling my car back up again with transmission fluid i noticed the fluid started to leak out half way through. I’ve looked online for causes and ways to fix but haven’t managed to pinpoint the cause yet? any ideas?

I don’t really have an idea where it’s leaking from. I’m assuming you removed the transmission pan to do the fluid change. Is there a possibility it’s leaking around the pan seal? If it isn’t leaking there, you just need to find where it is leaking and maybe post a picture…. If it’s leaking at the rear, could be the tail shaft seal, I suppose. Sorry, I’m not much help. Just throwing out guesses.

I looked at your picture a little more. Is that a drip at the bell housing (between transmission and engine)? If so, check for leaks around transmission cooler lines if any are in that area. If no cooler lines are leaking, could be the shaft seal on front of transmission. Transmission would have to come out in order to replace that, I believe.

1 Like

i didn’t remove the transmission pan, i simply took the bolt out from the pan and let it all pour out. then i pumped new fluid back in using a manual pump.

IMG_2482

Here is a better picture, i am not sure what this part is called but i looked up bell housing and it does have a similar shape to where it is leaking from so perhaps that may be it. it is located at the end of the transmission just before the oil pan i believe.

How many quarts of fluid did you add?

when i emptied it, 3 quarts came out.