Car whining when accelerating

Hi, I’m new to cars and got my first car off a friend. I’ve had it for three days and now when I accelerate, there’s a whine. I’m wondering what it could be.

We cannot hear it from here, so a sound clip would help.

It would also be good to let us know The year, make, model, engine, and mileage.

But I would first check the oil.
Second, I would check if the serpentine belt is cracked and worn.
This is an easy replacement with common tools, and there are plenty of U-tube videos that can guide you.

Yosemite

1 Like

Okay, I’ll get a sound clip asap, but I’ll tell you what I know about the car, it’s an infiniti j30 1993. It has 232k miles on it. New belts, clean transmission fluid, there’s a slight steering fluid leak from what I can see. Thanks for replying so quickly

THat is pretty old and quite a few miles on it.

Not to call your friend a liar, but it may not be a bad idea to spend $150 and have a shop do an inspection on this. You would not believe how many times I have seen people gets outright robbed by a friend.
This way you will know what to expect and not find in 30 days that it has enough problems that you need to spend $2000 immediately to keep it on the road.
It may need a lot of work and you can plan ahead to get everything fixed over the next 6 months.

Check the power steering fluid level. If low, the pump will whine …or more of a groan.

If the power steering fluid is leaking and getting onto the belt, it could cause the whine.

Yosemite

5 Likes

Thank you very much. I’ll get it checked out. My reservoir does have a leak. That’s what he said before I bought it.