Car stalling while idling in cold weather

Hello, I have been driving my 1998 STS for 3 years now and have been having an issue with stalls for the last 18 months. When I pull up to stop lights occasionally the engine will stall out. This generally happens in cold weather most often. Generally if it stalls once on a drive it will then stall at nearly every stop unless I give it some gas. When it stalls, the battery and oil lights come on.

Edit: A few other symptoms that I had neglected to mention:

Car stutters a little right before it stalls. Drops from around 1000 RPMs to 500 then back up and then stalls.

Car has only stalled once in last 4 months after not running for 10 days. This is what convinced me it had something to do with weather, as once temperatures where consistently above 50 degrees F the problem seemed to disappear.

Car never stutters or stalls if the accelerator is even barely pressed
I have replaced the battery and was informed it may be an alternator issue. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

The person that told you it may be an alternator issue… did he test the battery and charging system? Was he a qualified mechanic, or just a friend? Or a parts-counter (or skippy-lube) kid?
Has anything else been checked and/or tested by a qualified diagnostician?
Has any work been done on the vehicle just prior to the problems?

It’s a 1998, 19 years old. The possibilities include but are not limited to
1 poor compression
2 worn out spark plugs
3 a bad Idle Air Controller
4 a weak fuel pump
5 a bad temp sensor
6 a vacuum leak
7 a valve problem (weak springs, bad lash, burned valves, and on and on)
8 (some) weak coil(s) (I’m not sure how your ignition system is set up)