door. It is total dark inside.

Also the car key is useless in the situation. The car stays unlocked with or
without the key around.

One thing I notice though is I forgot to put the car back to P mode after
parking, instead it is staying at D mode until today. Would that cause this
issue?

What I am trying to figure out are:

1. Who should I contact for this problem? The car is in my apartment
    underground parking and I couldn’t get it to auto shop because it won’t start.
    Is there way to ask someone to come by and check or I can only get it towed?

2. What might be the cause of this issue? And what are the steps I can do to
    identify the root cause?

This is my first car and I am quite new to this, so any help would highly
appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

More than likely the battery is dead.

You have two choices.

Remove the battery from the vehicle and take it to a parts store that’ll test it for free.

Or, buy a new battery and install it.

Tester

Thanks for replying! I just bought the car last March, would the battery have died so soon? Also can I try to jumpstart the car?

Yes.

You can try jump starting the car. But donor vehicle will probably have to to idle for 10-15 minutes for your vehicle to start.

Tester

If you push the start/stop button while the shift lever is not in park, the engine stops and the ignition changes to the accessory position. After a period of time this will discharge the battery. It may be possible to recharge the battery.

You could also hook up a battery charger to the battery if there’s electricity available where it’s parked. A charger and some extension cords are easier to handle than a battery.

Thanks for replying! I have bought a jump starter and hopefully that would work.

Around here it is about $25 to have a truck come to jump start the car. If the jump pack doesn’t work. It takes a while to charge one those up.