Can you temporarily disable an ABS in a 2005 Chevy Equinox?

Hello! I have been having troubles with my ABS kicking on at low (5-15mph), and sometimes relatively high speeds (40-50mph). The sensor will kick on, and make a buzzing/grinding sound when I engage the brakes, and even sometimes fight me and push back so I am unable to stop, even on dry pavement. This has ultimately caused me to almost get into multiple severe accidents. I have already tried replacing the ABS sensors and brakes on my car, but nothing has helped this situation.

I am a broke college student trying to get by with what I have for right now, so I’m not willing to put 500 dollars into replacing the ABS module because I am buying a new car in a few months and this one is going to the scrap yard due to other safety issues. I have driven other vehicles before that don’t have an ABS, so I am not concerned with not having it in this one.

Any help or advice would be appreciated!

Take out the fuse or relay for abs.

3 Likes

The GM ABS design for those years really stinks. I have gone through innumerable issues with low speed activation and by that I mean less than 5 mph and the ABS kicks in because one or two wheel speed sensor output dropped out before the others.

Rust jacking of the WSS is a common cause of dropout. In my experimenting even a thousandth of an inch is enough to cause a problem. So make sure the caliper interface and sensor flange are clean and the caliper down to bare metal. Another issue I have found is grease on the tone ring. Look down into the sensor hole and rotate the hub. Remove any grease or other foreign matter on the tone ring.

When I get this annoying activation, I just turn the wheel so that one WSS connector is easily accessible. Disconnect it and the ABS is disabled. You’ll get a Service Stabilitrak message on the DIC, if equipped, and the ABS and Traction Control indicators will be illuminated. But the low speed ABS problem will be inhibited…

1 Like