Camry A/C service - not cheap

First-timer here. Thanks now to anyone who’d care to comment on my question. I’m by no means an automotive engineering savant, so here goes. My mechanic tells me the expansion valve in my '97 Camry’s A/C system is bad, but that it could be worse–the “plumbing” seems to be free of moisture. Here’s the thing: he’s citing costs of about $250 for genuine Toyota replacement parts and about $500 in labor, for a total repair bill of around $800. Can an informed reader tell me whether that sounds reasonable?

I don’t know if it’s “reasonable” but it’s not surprising. They will have to evacuate and flush the system, replace the valve, and recharge the system. It sounds like they are charging you for about 5 hours of labor. I can’t seem to go near an AC system without spending $1000.

That’s a really bad rip-off. The expansion valve is only about $50 or so. A new filter drier is about $15-$30. Polyol ester oil is about $20 for one 20oz can. R134a is about $8 per can.
It is not necessary to flush the system unless the compressor burned out.
A good tech can replace the expansion valve and filter drier, change the oil, and start the vacuuming in less than an hour. It takes minutes to charge the system. They probably included the “vacuum hours” into the labor estimate when most of the evacuation process requires no actual work.

Check with some other HVAC shops for estimates.

I’d question the need for “genuine Toyota parts,” but other than that it’s not too bad. The labor can be high on these jobs, because some of the AC components are hard to get at, and in some cases most of the dashboard has to come out.

I’d ask the mechanic to price a non-Toyota valve and see how much difference it makes. You don’t need factory new parts in a ten year old car.