Buying a new engine

i want to get my car a new engine soonish, and i need help on where and what to buy. im new to cars in general so i would appreciate any and all help figuring this out.

It depends on what kind of car you have, the current engine, and age and condition. It’s best to buy new or re-manufactured crate engine from a dealer, but there are other options such as one from another rebuilder (quality will vary) or used (quality and price will vary. I’ve only bought a crate engine and one used engine in my life and would simply trade cars rather than do that again.

i have a 2001 dodge neon se its mostly in good condition. Do i have to make the call to Dodge to get a new engine shipped in?

You have a car that might be worth $2,000 in good condition. A new engine will cost that + more. If you are new to cars, installing a new engine is way way past your ability to handle. Contact a local independent mechanic for a price, once you see the $$$ and sticker shock you will start looking around for a new to you used car.

5 Likes

im well aware of the money involved im just asking the question

https://www.jasperengines.com/crate-engines

I doubt Chrysler (who’s now owned by Fiat) will have a new engine available for a 2001 Neon, but I could be wrong. You could call the dealership and ask. Beyond that, rebuilt engines should be available with a warranty through Jasper or similar companies, although I’ve heard the quality of some of those rebuilt engines is kind of hit or miss. So I’d lean towards getting a replacement vehicle unless you’re just attached to the Neon…

Perfect! Thank you all for the information.

Assuming your actually a Reverend there must be someone in your congregation who can advise you. A 2001 Neon is not worth the amount of money it would take to put a rebuilt motor in. And a used motor would be old and unreliable .