Buying a new car? NEED MAJOR HELP!

I’m getting ready to purchase a new car. I have owned two cars in my seven years of driving. One of which was given to me on my sixteenth birthday by my parents, it was a 1997 Pontiac Grand Prix, it had 102,000 miles on it when I got it, and it was in good condition. I was on my way home from a friends house late one night when I was hit by a drunk driver who ran a red light, he totaled my beloved first car, just as I was getting ready to head off to cosmetology school. I decided that I couldn’t live by myself and not have a car, so I collected my insurance money, and went to one of those small used car lots, and not knowing anything about cars, I just picked out the car by color. I ended up buying a 1998 Acura Integra Special Edition (meaning it has 4 doors instead of 2), it was green and had 200,000 miles on it. I graduated from cosmetology school in the end of 2006 and I didn’t sell the car like planned, because it was just supposed to get me through school. I’ve come to the decision that its time to sell it, and move up in the car world. I’m really not good with cars, so some help would be appreciated. I need a car that is preferably 4-doors, and gets good gas mileage, and I’m only looking to spend between $6,500 to $8,000. If you have any ideas on what kinda car I should look at I’d really appreciate it, cause I have no idea what I’m getting myself into. And I apologize for writing a book.

Thanks,

Chanel

Given your budget and your desire for good gas mileage, I would recommend a Hyundai Elantra. It is essentially as fuel efficient as a Honda Civic, is reliable, and will cost considerably less than a Honda Civic of the same model year. In other words, for the same price, you can buy a Hyundai Elantra that is one or two years newer than a Civic, and this would likely also have a lot fewer miles on the odometer, since it will be newer. This would be a practical choice, IMHO.