Buy Newer or OLD

Looking into buying lower mileage 1975-1985 pickup truck. Not looking for something fancy, just a solid vehicle without the bells and whistles, and in my thinking, some of the technological headaches of newer vehicles. I am no mechanic, but am pretty handy. I do not really have the money to buy a newer vehicle, so therefore don’t have the money to be replacing a lot on an older one either. I think older models would be easier to work on on my own, and part may be a little cheaper. Does anyone have any thoughts on the matter?

You’re talking about buying an antique, 30-40 years old. If it’s cheap, it’ll need lots of work. And this age truck needed quite a bit of work, even when newer. What part of the country are you in? What have you found in your budget? Old trucks like this in good shape have become expensive.

3 Likes

[quote=“lanceturnerinc, post:1, topic:98429”]
I am no mechanic, but am pretty handy.
[/quote

A low mileage vehicle of that age is rare and won’t be cheap. You are talking 31 to 41 years old so rust would be a big factor. If this is to be driven on a regular basis you could be looking at money pit time. I don’t know where you are but most places pickup trucks used are not cheap. As for parts being cheaper I doubt that because some might not even be available.

3 Likes

Live in South Carolina. Found a 74 f100 for $1800. I am not really partial to any particular make or model. Just want something with some level of reliability that I dont have to fork over $15,000 for.

No 43 year old truck is reliable.

2 Likes

I wonder if the OP has been listening to those that say " they just don’t build them like they used to " and I am glad they don’t.

While I don’t like to recommend vehicles you should use the build it feature for Nissan Frontier and you might be surprised.

1 Like

Maybe I have some nostalgia for the simpler things in life, and possibly a healthy loathing of car salesmen. I appreciate the perspectives.

2 Likes