Buick Ends Their USA Car Line

It seems the only new Buicks we’ll be seeing on USA roads will be SUVs. Buick cars? Kaput!

1 Like

That’s too bad, really. I suppose they aren’t selling well. I don’t know anything about the newer model Buick’s, but the older ones like I own seem to have been fairly reliable cars. I still see quite a few mid 2000 model Lesabres running around. Mostly older folks driving them. And one cheap redneck :grimacing:. I think I prefer Buick’s like mine over the other comparable domestic sedans of the era (Chevy Impala, Ford…Taurus, I guess?). But, like I said, I have no experience with the more modern Buick’s. I’ve never driven one that didn’t have a 3.8 liter, so I’m 15 years or so out of touch. That’s basically all my mom has driven for the past thirty years. They all went over 200k miles without any major issues, except for one problematic car that was bought used, had numerous sensors replaced including the computer, but never was correctly diagnosed. It was finally scrapped by my dad around 2007. Kind of hate to see Buick cars go away for good. I don’t really miss Pontiac, though :thinking:

Buick cars could comeback I suppose if American car buyers start to get tired of SUVs. I’ve been noticing that a higher and higher % of vehicles in parking lots are SUVs. Seems like it is 65- 75% SUV’s now. I’m not really sure what it is about SUV’s people like so much. Most of the ones I’ve ridden in or driven haven’t had very good handling characteristics, too much sway in turns compared to lower center of gravity sedans.