Bug spray and paint warning

I never knew DEET destroys paint.

https://www.yahoo.com/autos/how-something-you-spray-on-your-kids-can-melt-your-128334848277.html

I found out the hard way a few years ago. When we went camping we would leave the bug spray right out side the door. Spray it on as you leave…When you use it there’s always some dripping off the spray nozzle. And after a week…eventually it started to drip on the camper…after a few camping trips…the paint was pealing. Luckily the camper is aluminum…so no rust will form…But I wasn’t happy.

Hmm, lets see, it will eat the paint off of my car but I’m supposed to spray it on my kids? No thanks. I mean as a mechanic I get exposed to lots of chemicals but this is a no-brainer. Let the kids complain a little bit.

No bug spray at my house. Sunscreen either.

In addition to the paint problem. Deet will soften some plastics with which it comes in contact.
Of course, all of this makes me wonder about what it might be doing to my body, but because I live in an area with a LOT of deer ticks carrying Lyme Disease, I do use Deet on the occasions when I will be hiking on wilderness trails.

However, I immediately shower upon getting home and it would be rare for it to remain on my skin for more than a couple of hours. Still, I do worry about that stuff.

Deet will melt the plastic on sunglasses. If you apply bug spray with high concentrations of deet on your face, and then put your sun glasses on, the plastic will melt where it touches your cheeks.

Personally, I’m not that concerned about my car getting mosquito bites so I never put deet on it.

I drive a Studebaker Mosquito Hawk, and never have problems with mosquitoes.

Hmm, lets see, it will eat the paint off of my car but I'm supposed to spray it on my kids? No thanks. I mean as a mechanic I get exposed to lots of chemicals but this is a no-brainer. Let the kids complain a little bit.

I don’t know where you live but here in NH…we have West Nile Virus and EEE.