Brake parts

How important is it to replace brake pads and possibly roters on an Acura with Acura parts? Thanks.

I have a unbranded Chinese master cylinder in a VW for 4 years and 78,000 miles and a rear wheel cylinder for over 2 years and 42,000 miles. Both are good so far. Both were from a local car parts store.

If your Acura parts failed too soon, possibly you might want to try another part brand.

[b]Any reputable parts store will sell quality aftermarket brake components that will meet or exceed the OEM specifications for your vehicle. And that’s all you ask for.

Varying from these specifications is what usually results in poor brake performance and/or unwanted brake noise.

Tester[/b]

Not important at all. I used NAPA rotors and pads on ours. One thing though is that the Acura has the phillips screw holding the rotors on the same as Honda. So if you do it yourself, spend $20 for an impact screwdriver to loosen it. Then no problem.

The impact screwdriver will only help if you have an air compressor capable of deliving 90psi of pressure. This means a compressor/tank combo.

If you don’t have this kind of air power, and don’t want to spend the money, you can buy a gear multiplier that you can use with either a socket (and buy a phillips head socket) or a drill and a phillips head drill bit.

-Matt

CAREFUL NOT TO STRIP THE SCREW!!!

Matt:
The impact screwdriver works with a hammer.

Oh that thing… yeah I don’t like em. Don’t ask why. Guess I just have an aversion to hammers and automobiles being mixed. I thought you meant an air-powered impact setup with a phillips at the head.

-Matt

Acura/Honda don’t make brake parts. They’re made for them by some other manufacturer.