Brake pad replacement on non-stock brake pads

So I pulled the brake pads off my car and went to put on the new pads and they
were completely different. I bought the car used from a dealer. Is it possible
they put different brake calipers on? If so, how do I figure out what brake pads I
need?

2017 mitsubishi outlander GT

I’m no expert, but I don’t think it’s common to replace brake calipers with a completely different model/type. I wouldn’t expect calipers to go bad on a 2017 car.

Are you 100% sure you bought the right brake pads?

Where did you buy these pads ? Can you take an old pad to the parts store for comparison ?

So, I got the brake pads from autozone and verified they were for the right vehicle. Then when I took the old ones off, I saw that they were completely different. So, I took the old ones down to autozone and tried to see if they match any different years or trims but with no luck. I then looked on o’reilly’s website and they look just like the wrong ones I got at autozone. I also don’t think it’s common to replace entire brake calipers since you’d mess up the brake system and would have a heck of a time bleeding the system. But I did see one website where there was a recall for something that had to do with the brakes. I just have no idea how to match them to the right part.

post a photograph showing both pads.

Confirm that the 10th digit in VIN is H.

Bendix has an app for that in the playstore, supposedly just take a picture.

I’ll post photos and the VIN when I get home. I’ll try that bendix app too. That would be nice.

Check the VIN, but no need to post it on this thread.

It’s not terribly uncommon to upgrade brake calipers in sportier vehicles, but an Outlander? One wonders why anyone would bother.

I wonder if they gave you rear pads instead of fronts (or vice versa).

3 Likes