Bad steering column

hopped in my '98 gc after school as usual and started it up with no issues. as i’m turning the steering wheel, audible clunking is heard. once the wheels are completely turned to the right, i hear a loud bonk (snap, clunk, not sure how to describe the noise, it was loud though). at this point, i still have a marginal amount of steering but something is completely wrong. there is a large area where i can turn the steering wheel and nothing happens. not only that, but it is completely off-centered (i should make a point of mentioning that the steering wheel is never perfectly aligned, maybe this has something to do with it?). i pull up to a light, and turn the wheels completely again to see if there’s anything left. i hear another clunk, and my steering is busted. no steering at all now, wheel rotates freely with clunking sounds. the pitman arm is loose, along with the steering column. apologies if i’m using any terms wrong, i’m new to cars.

my question is, will i need to replace the column completely, and is there anything else it could be?

Just get the car towed to a competent repair shop. Do not drive it. They will tell you what needs to be replaced.

1 Like

Yep, shop time.
Pitman arm is bolted to steering box.
Arm is not attached to box now?
Pretty rare.
Did the Pittman arm nut fall off?

It is not the steering column… I’d guess it is the stuff under the car that just fell off.

1 Like

Make mine another vote for a towtruck and a reputable shop.

You could have broken the u-joint at the base of the steering column but more likely you have broken some steering parts. Unless you have someone knowledgeable to look at it, tow it to a shop/

This

http://www.autozone.com/suspension-steering-tire-and-wheel/steering-coupling-disc

is what first comes to mind for me.

I think the vehicle needs a new steering gear.

https://www.rockauto.com/en/moreinfo.php?pk=3027483&cc=1315963&jsn=382

The splined shaft on the steering gear is the pitman shaft.