Am I being Taken? Brakes & Rotors Quote

Hi. Newbie here to this site.
My 2004 Chrysler Pacifica started making horrible noises when I stepped on the brakes so bad I thought my car was about to blow up! It then continued making noise as I drove. It felt like something was caught on my driver’s side wheel area. I’ve been scared to drive it…it sounds and feels so horrible-I used to drive for a living so that’s saying a lot.
Today, Farm & Fleet said I needed to replace the brake pads and rotors but that something was causing the caliper to rub which is causing the noise. He said I have metal on metal, yet that rotor is completely rusted since this started.
Can’t I take it apart, pop back the caliper, resurface the rotors and be fine, replace the pads? I didn’t see the brake pads yet. I asked him the same question and he talked in circles… said he didn’t have time to take apart the whole brake system but the caliper is rubbing and causing the horrible noise.
He kept pushing me and pushing me to make an appointment… Actually he made the appointment for Monday. I had to say no… I’ll call. So he made the appointment for Wed. I said again I would think about it and call. He said if i don’t fix it right away, I could get killed! He then said he had to order the parts so to call him Monday before the appt. I said AGAIN, IF I decide to go through with it., having to try to cut him off and be heard over his quite loud voice. I think he just talks that way all the time…but then again seems he never lets people get in a word edgewise.