About to DIY brake pad replacement due to noise

noise is rapid chirping heard now and then while braking on seemingly uneven surfaces or harder braking on downhill slopes. otherwise the brakes dont make sound. seems only occuring on driver side front if i can pinpoint accurately.

i am a rideshare driver so my income makes it only feasible to DIY

this is my first time doing it. i know i need to now purchase a floor jack.

my vehicle is a mazda3 i touring 2010 model.

according to internet i need a 7mm allen head but will a 7mm hex key as in one of those tools that are not attached to a ratchet suffice?

seems i only need to buy brake pads, floor jack and 7mm hex key.

video tutorials recommend a brake caliper pump tool but i also read that a needle noise plier will work just fine for where that tool is required.

i am seeking experienced mechanics advise and suggestions for above concerns and inquiries. thank you in advance.

You should also replace the rotors.

It’s impossible to get new brake pads to bed properly on used rotors to prevent brake noise and vibration

https://brakeperformance.com/bedding-in-rotors.php?srsltid=AfmBOorwhdMv7CikzRJK_DRkIMiNd4F-LzNiFqLqjqU1AmTEGvTlRxuH

It’s also a good idea to use jack stands while the wheel is off even if you’re not under the vehicle. Having a floor jack fail letting the vehicle fall without the tire on can cause damage resulting more cost to repair.

Tester

2 Likes

You’ll also need a 17mm socket to remove the caliper bracket to replace the rotors.

Not making much income does not excuse you from paying for a proper repair. You are on road a lot more than a person who does not drive for a living. So a botched repair can endanger others.

5 Likes