All Wheel Drive Alignment

I have a 2001 Audi A6. I am the original owner. The car has never been wrecked, etc. Question 1: I have had a problem history with tire wear on the front driver side wheel/tire. I have tried to be vigilant on air pressure, rotation, and avoiding bad bumps (alignment problems) but have averaged less than 20K miles on sets of tires. Currently have a set of Goodyear Eagle F1 high performance tires on the car and all other tires have been premium grade as well. The roads in my area (Western NC) are sometimes windy and mountainous but I don’t believe I’m an aggressive driver. I generally rely on an Audi dealer, with a very good reputation, for most all service. Question 2: I understand that once one tire in a set goes bad you have to replace the entire set, but I’d like to think you could replace the one bad tire with the same brand/size tire of the other good tires.

Any suggestions on correcting the described problem would be greatly appreciated. Steve in Asheville, NC

“but I’d like to think you could replace the one bad tire with the same brand/size tire of the other good tires.”

I would like to think that I can defy gravity if I flap my arms hard enough, but unfortunately, my thinking that this is the case does not make it reality.
;-))

Seriously, however, it all depends on how much wear has taken place on the remaining three tires. If they are fairly new and still have very good tread depth, you may be able to go with your plan. However, if you are wrong, you will damage the AWD mechanism and incur repair bills that–in view of this being an Audi–could be substantial, to say the least.