Air resistance Calculations

I am a DIY mechanic who is looking to build a vehicle to maximize fuel efficiency at highway speed. I have been working on cars all my life, and I am a scientist, so I prefer to plan and calculate rather than just throwing things together. Each engine has it’s own fuel consumption curve, and I want to ask any of the actual automotive engineers out there how one might approximate fuel economy losses due to air resistance. It is very straightforward to calculate the theoretical maximum fuel economy for a given speed using the specific fuel consumption and power output at a given RPM, and then plugging that RPM into gear ratios to arrive at a certain speed and fuel consumption. However, that only reflects the engine and drivetrain (which are weightless in the model) traveling at speed with zero air resistance. Obviously that is not a realistic model, and so I am interested in calculating adjusted fuel economy assuming I know the drag coefficient and frontal cross-sectional area of the vehicle. Does anyone have an idea of how to do that (in a general sense, I can do the math myself with my own numbers)? Thanks in advance for your help!

“It is very straightforward to calculate the theoretical maximum fuel economy for a given speed using the specific fuel consumption and power output at a given RPM”

You need calculate the power required to propell the car at highway speed. More specifically, the power requirement to overcome all the resistances (rolling resistance, wind resistance, etc.).
Power requirement = Resistance X Velocity

Once you know the total power requirement, you need to compensate for drive train efficiency. The exact efficiency is best determined through experimentation on the specific vehicle in question. But for estimation purposes assume it’s 80% - 85%

Also, be aware that there are many other factors that can affect fuel economy. So calculations are really nothing more than an educated guess.