Accord 1999 -starter problems?

Hello,

I’ve got a problem with my faithful friend here… she won’t start.

I’m assuming it’s a starter problem, but I have very little mechanical experience and my friends don’t either.

Basically it makes this high pitched noise that I can’t describe in words… like a metallic motor spin. It seems the battery is fine - the engine doesn’t have the slow cranck that i’ve experience before when it was a dead battery/alternator, and we also tried jumping it to confirm.

Just not sure if it’s worth getting it towed and fixed. The main reason i’m holding back is that i just put down about $2000 in the past few months for a new timing belt, rotors, brakes, tires, 100k major service, etc, hoping to get it to last to 10 yrs (she’s almost 9 yrs hold now).

Oh yeah, not sure if this was a precursor to this problem, but in the last year about 3-4 times the car sputtered and died right after ignition. However, if i waited another minute it would start and run fine.

Your advice would be much appreciated. thanks!!

Arthur

It sounds like a starter related problem. I am not sure about your car but I believe some cars ca have the bad part replaced an some need the whole starter replaced. It may also be the flywheel.

Just remember that the money you already put in was maintenance, not a repair. Consider it like fuel.