A/C Question/problem

My daughter has a 2014 Corolla. She was complaining at the end of last year the A/C would quit blowing cold while driving at random times. Once on a trip with her it quit randomly. I got out to look and observed one of the lines had frozen up, which to me indicates it was getting low on freon (could be wrong). Now, the A/C won’t turn on at all. I say that but it started working shortly last night while she and my wife were driving in it, but it quit not long after. I have put gauges on the car while it was not running and both sides are reading right at 100lbs, (low side dipped down to about 98), so pretty much balanced. When I turn the A/C on or off, I don’t hear the compressor cycle. Is it possible the freon level needs a boost to kick the pressure switch to allow the compressor to come on and the problem is just low freon/possible leak?

I’m not an AC mechanic, but 100 lbs static pressure seems too high unless the out door temperature is well over 100 degrees out.

Here’s a static pressure chart.

Tester

Ok, so going by the chart tester provided, with the temperature being about 86-88 that day, the gauges shown the levels were appropriate. That leaves me vexed as to why the lines were freezing up.

Check if the condenser is restricted with debris.

Tester

Ok, finally got her to stay home long enough to look at the car again. The condenser is clear. When i start the car, the fan does not engage. When I turn AC on, it does,which is telling me the circuit is completing. I don’t hear a definite “click” as the older AC units did because the clutch turns all the time so I have read, but I do hear something (possibly just the fan) turning on.