Seeking advice on car A/C repair

This is in regard to a 2004 Corolla. This car has always had a slow leak in the A/C system, and needed refrigerant added every few years since new. I took it to the dealer for service a few times while it was under warranty, and within the Toyota Care extended warranty, but they never found or fixed the leak.

That being said, the current problem is that although there is refrigerant, the compressor is not pumping. I connected my set of automotive A/C gauges, the pressures are equalized at 120 psi, and the ambient is 97 degrees today. I tried unplugging and re-plugging the 4-pin dual pressure switch, and the engine RPMs decrease if I unplug the pressure switch and increase if I plug it back in. The pressures on the gauges do not change. (See pictures.)

Any advice to troubleshoot this would be appreciated. I am a professional HVAC technician, so “take it to a shop” is not what I’m looking to hear. Thank you.

Leaks: No personal diy’er AC experience myself, but I’ve heard say a common source of AC leaks are the ports where the test and fill equipment connects to the system.

Compressor not running: Is the AC clutch-on signal present?

You need to check all the fuses related to the ac compressor

then use your digital multimeter and the wiring diagram to verify the pressure switches are working properly

I’d find a good independent a/c shop.

1 Like

OK, granted you wrote that the leak was a slow leak and that you are a “professional HVAC technician” With that thought in mind, I will not tease you with some unwanted, unsavory comments concerning your qualifications as I am a Computer Programmer, Systems Analysis, with all the requisite Microsoft Certifications as well as numerous CompTIA IT Certifications and as I type this, I am also reloading the wife’s Laptop Computer for the third time today and I cannot figure out why I keep getting some really “flaky” error messages…