98 v6 accord transmission shifts hard

My 98 honda v6 accord shifts hard sometimes when going into and out of low gears. The transmission guy told me it had to do with the material that was on the clutches wearing off, dislodging, and clogging things. I have been driving the car for several years as is. Should I have the tranny rebuild or keep driving? Am I making matters worse by driving it as is?

Automatic or manual? How often have you changed fluid? If never you ought to be ashamed. How many miles on the car? Why not change the fluid now? If automatic it should cost about $65 for a drain and fill. Small change compared to a rebuilt transmission or new car. I went through a similar problem with my wife’s 98 Accord (4 cyl, 239k miles) last summer. I had maintained the trans (changed fluid every 40k miles). I was told Honda won’t rebuild automatic transmissions. I bought a rebuilt trans from Jasper. They took my old transmission in exchange. I suppose you could possibly destroy your transmission and not be able to collect the $400 core charge for it.

Friction material is a killer on these. Did the transmission guy pull the CPC solenoids and check the screens for debris??

transman

It’s automatic and the fluid has been changed regularly, every 30K or sooner. Hubby has tried transmission additive also. We may try the the flushing!!

I talked to the transmission guy about it. He did say that the friction material was likely the culprit. He said 1000 to 1300 for rebuild. Do you have to drop the entire trans. to check CPC solenoids? We you rebuild, do you put back better stuff than was there?

All transmissions have their weak points. Over time it becomes apparent what they are and parts suppliers often get on it. As such, most any model of transmission that’s been around for a while has various “upgraded” replacement parts - as in better than the original and designed to avoid the same kind of problems.