'98 Chevy 1500 5.0L V8 - Turns over but won't start

Alright. I’m a handyman by trade but have only done regular maintenance on my vehicles - I’m no expert. I’ve searched several forums for this information but have found 1000 different answers, mostly for other makes and models. My truck is a 1998 Chevy Cheyenne 1500, 5.0L V8, 137k miles, last tune up at 110k miles. Use valvoline oil explicitly, and change every 4k miles.

I got into my truck this morning, it turned over, and then died. The gauges all activated and displayed adequate oil pressure, battery power, etc. My RPMs got to 1000 for a second and then back to zero. I tried pumping the gas pedal a bit and nothing changed. It will do the same trick over and over with no difference based on time in between.

So I pulled the air filter off and changed the spark plugs and wires. The spark plugs were moderately worn and two had some corrosion. I used the correct gap on my gauge (.06 or .6, don’t remember) and I’ve done spark plug changes a few times in different vehicles. I’m pretty sure it was done correctly. Also, I noticed that the coolant was low, so I filled it up, and added a quart of oil.

No luck. Exact same thing is happening. I really want to avoid electrical issues (don’t we all!) and would like to check other things first… lol.

Please, anything y’all can suggest to help.

i put my money on fuel pump. its fuel or spark. check fuel pressure at rail. could be failed ignition component. do you have spark? use 1 old plug and stick it in plug harness. ground plug. crank motor. do you see spark at plug?

Ok very weird. I pulled the spark plug wire off the 6th cylinder, plugged in an old spark plug for testing, and had my wife crank it over. It sparked, but also the truck started normally. I turned it off, reconnected the wire to the newly installed spark plug, and cranked it back up - no problem.