96 Dodge Neon stalling while idling

I have a 96 Dodge Neon, SOHC, automatic. The car has been a problem car from day one, but my most recent issue is with stalling, something I’ve never experienced before.

At very low speeds, such as when idling/coasting on an off-ramp from the highway or when getting in/out of a parking space, the car putt, putt, putts and dies. At higher speeds when your foot is on the gas, the car runs fine.

I took it to my mechanic and he couldn’t make the car act up. I picked it up, drove down the road and stalled out. He picked me back up and we got it to his shop, and they cleaned out the throttle body. The car didn’t start right away, but after giving it a little gas, it worked fine.

I took the car home and drove it around, and everything seemed to be going great. I went back to class (I’m a college student), and I returned tonight to further test the car. I drove around my apartment’s parking lot for about 15 minutes, idling as often as possible, and just as I was about to give up and say “it’s fixed,” I pulled into a parking space, then pulled back out in reverse, only to stall.

I appreciate anyone’s advice on this. My mechanic didn’t seem to believe that it could be the fuel filter, but I’m wondering if I have a bad fuel pump. One of my roommates suggested it was the clutch or fly wheel, but that seems unlikely (with my limited knowledge of cars).

Thank you.

It could very likely be your idle air control valve, it may need to be cleaned or replaced.

What happens after it stalls out? Does it start right back up? Or do you have to wait a while? Of does it start, but with difficulty?

Also say something about maintenance. When is the last time it got new plugs? Wires? Air/fuel filter? Do you know what your mechanic has tested? Results?

Is the check engine light on?