94 VW Golf III Stumbling

I have a 94 VW golf III 5 speed with 195,000 miles, I bought in october with 187,000. Over the winter I noticed that it would stumble a little at road speed, I did not think much about it at first, thinking it was just bad gas, 2 weeks ago i changed the fuel filter thinking that maybe that was causing it,this pastr weekend i notice that it has gotten worse, at road speed it would stumble worse and more often. If I start out from a stop light it acts like i am just learning to drive a stick. i have pout injector cleaner in it thinking that would help but no luck. I use this car to get back and forth from Philly to DC 3-4 time a month, i could use any help i can to sovle my problem.

Is the Check Engine light on?

no