94 Accord won't stay running

I’m no professional mechanic, and it seems like I’ve run myself into a dead end here. I have a '94 Accord, EX model with manual transmission that won’t stay running. It will start up, and run for about half a second before shutting off. The shut off is fast, like spark, not like it’s losing fuel pressure. I also hot wired the fuel pump to diagnose and make sure it was receiving fuel-- it is, and that’s not the problem. I have replaced the main fuel pump relay under the steering column, checked every fuse, and replaced the ignition control module in the distributor. I have even tried starting it with a different battery.
The car used to do this once or twice before finally starting and running when the car was cold. It seemed to slowly get worse over time, but if the car was warm it never seemed to do it. Now the car will not start despite how warm it is outside, and the same problem always occurs and it dies after a half second.
Any help would be appreciated!

Does it die after a half a second or as soon as you release the key from the start position?

The ballast resistor may be bad.

When cranking the engine over, full battery voltage is allowed to the ignition coil.

Once the engine starts, the voltage is then passed thru the ballast resistor to drop the voltage to the coil to prevent burning out secondary ignition components.

Tester

1 Like

Is it possible that a malfunction in the car’s security system is causing it to shut down?

It dies a half second or so after I release the key. If I keep the key cranking, the car will run for a half second, then just continue cranking and not fire at all again until I release the key and attempt starting again.

I don’t think so. I would imagine it wouldn’t start at all. And it does run, but only rarely.