2020 Hyundai Elantra

Hi how are you guys? My name is Mike and I recently purchased a 2020 Hyundai elantra on on Sept 29, 2019. I came across a huge problem with the car less than 3 months of owning the car, I took the car to the dealership on dec 23rd, 2019 via tow. I waited about 2 weeks for a reply on whats happening with the car, and come to find out there was metal in the oil compartment which caused the engine to lock/damage the engine. So the dealership is having the engine replaced completely by warranty. What is worrying me is that, why would a brand new car require such a big job just three months of owning the car. I took the car to the dealership for oil changes and maintenance, so I can’t really pin point issues unless they did something wrong causing it to lock however I don’t know.

At this point, I don’t know if I even want this car considering that something like this happened so early on. Like I’m new at owning a new car, so I don’t know if I did anything wrong. I am curious, is this normal? What am I to do in this situation?

The vehicle will be returned with the warranty still intact . Just relax and drive it and trade just before the warranty expires . Things happen that defy explanation .

3 Likes

So the warranty isn’t taken away after using it the first time, thank god. I just don’t want any future issues because of the fact the engine was replaced. I don’t want to keep going to the dealership for issues arising from the engine replacement. I’ll see how it goes and follow your advice.

This is a classical case of “infant mortality.” There was an error in the engine’s assembly, there was a bad part that made it into the engine and the engine failed VERY early as a result. It is a quality control issue in the manufacturing process that Hyundai is now addressing by changing your engine. The car will be as new when you get it back ad fully warrantied.