2019 Ford Transit Connect - Is 2 liters enough

Is a 4 cylinder/2 litre engine (in a cargo van (i.e a Ford Transit-Connect or Nissian 1500 Series van)) durable enough to handle a lot of highway speed driving.year after year? I do a lot of traveling throughout the year and wondering if I should get a van with this size engine or a mini van with a 6 clyinder enigne ie the Honda Odyssey or Toyota Sienna. Thanks.

Well , you say Cargo Van and a Honda Odyssey or a Sienna don’t meet that description . You might describe what this traveling is but since the 4 cylinder vans are used for service vehicles with lots of equipment in them daily I see no reason to worry.

Hi:

Thanks for replying to my E-Mail.

The traveling I do is touring. I’m a Musician so the van would be used for carrying a (not-so-heavy) PA equipment + luggage. I do a lot of highway driving touring throughout the Country. Currently I have a Ford E350 Econoline van which I need to replace by the end of the year and can’t afford a new van that size, that’s why I was inquiring if the engine sizes in the smaller vans I mentioned are durable enough to handle highway speed throughout the year, year after year.

As always a test drive is the way to tell if a vehicle performs the way you want. But now that you mention what you will have with you a Transit Van without side windows so thieves can’t see what is inside sounds like a good choice. Besides , todays 4 cly engines have more power that some V8’s of years ago.

Thanks for your valued insight. I will certainly take the selected vehicles on test drives, but a 10 minute test drive on the highway won’t determine if that size engine is durable enough to sustain highway speed day after day, month after month for a few decades.

Thanks; and always enjoy the show, even in syndication.

Are you aware that there has not been a new show in years and the reruns are not carried by many stations now.

This is not an engine size issue but how reliable will this vehicle be?