2017 BMW X5 - does this estimate sound right?

The engine light came on and I took it to the shop. The issue is how it is written on invoice - Performed, vehicle test. found faults for for Vavletronic position along with under,voltage faults stored. Ran test procedure for vavltronic system.,recommend replacing eccentric shaft, along with servomotor as per test,plan. Cost is a little over 7K. 37K miles on vehicle, should eccentric shaft wear out so fast? Are they defective or poorly made?
Replace $4500 in parts. Does that sound right?

I can’t speak to the engine concern directly, however the under voltage codes concern me. A low or defective battery can trigger several faults on startup. Did they say what caused the under voltage codes? I would make sure the battery was ok and see if the code returns once cleared.

Let me preface this by emphasizing that I am not a mechanic. Now then, it sounds like the shop wants to replace your camshaft because of low voltage to the VVT servo motor? That seems a bit much to me and I’d love to hear the rationale, if any. Color me skeptical.

4 Likes

sorry Dave if you think that was directed towards you. it wasn’t. when you wrote you were not a mechanic it reminded me of this mug. I am in one of those moods. :upside_down_face: :rofl:

No offense taken. Returning to the topic at hand, can you shed any light on the issue at hand? I really want to understand the shop’s diagnosis.

BMW’s Valvetronic is more than just a variable timing camshaft, it’s variable lift, and this involves other parts of that complicated system.

3 Likes